What I paint

A mathematician by training, a discipline that I chose for its infinitely dreamlike dimension and that I taught for years at the university level, I attended the famous studio “La Grande Chaumière” in the Montparnasse area in Paris for a number of years. The painter René ARTOZOUL was my teacher there. I also studied anthropology.

As far as I can remember, I have always painted humans, often only one at a time and only the face, simplifying their representations to the extreme – in the drawing as well as in the choice and application of the colors – so that one can imagine their current emotions through their expression, whether it be implied or merely suggested.
What interests me fundamentally is not to show the context or the environment of these emotions, what created them, or those who witnessed them, but to enter their depths and allow one to imagine both their genesis and their evolution, limiting the register of pathos as much as possible.

This was true for my paintings on canvas, and it is also true for my digital paintings, which I create using my fingertips, without a stylus. This very tactile technic is very helpful in allowing me to give birth to the emotions that I want to suggest. Not to mention the pleasure of being able to create and “un-create” a piece as it is being born under your fingertips, as you see fit, without ever having to kill the previous version to find the new state of equilibrium of the painting being created – unlike what happens with physical mediums.

My themes cover the spectrum of humans pulsions, with their joys, their physical and psychic torments, their calls to myths and religions, their fights, their carnages. I also pay homage to many “figures”, contemporary or not, public or private, real or imaginary, all of whom are important in my eyes for what they tell about our collective history or about my own history. In particular, the members of the Holy Family come to mind, the “of Nazareths”, especially Mary and Jesus, during the “terrestrial” part of their existences, which is the only part I am interested in for my paintings. And, here too, I attempt to get the viewer to imagine.

There probably is a form of militancy in my paintings, in the sense that oppression by others is often present. In this respect, the French art critic and curator Christian NOORBERGEN did me the honor of writing that “[My] art is “charged” as a timeless talisman might be.”

And there is also perhaps a certain touch inherited from arts seen as “primitive”. These arts, now called “primary”, are magnificent and universal imprints of a form of eternity that deeply moves me.

My digital images are printed on Epson Hahnemuble Photorag 305g paper with a Diasec® Plexi/Plexi 3+3mm finishing that offers a color guarantee of at least 100 years (Museum Quality). They are available to print in various formats, most often homothetic to the A format, which is the one used for most of my images.

The result is an exact copy of my initial creations, both in the colors as well as in the material effects that I introduce. My paintings are available in three limited editions (all formats).

Ce que je peins

Mathématicienne de formation, j’ai longtemps fréquenté l’Académie de la Grande Chaumière (à Paris) où j’ai suivi l’enseignement du peintre René ARTOZOUL. J’ai également étudié l’anthropologie.

Aussi loin qu’il m’en souvienne, j’ai toujours peint des humains, souvent un seul à la fois et souvent seulement le visage, en simplifiant leur représentation à l’extrême, tant dans le dessin que dans le choix et l’application des couleurs, pour donner à imaginer leur émotion de l’instant à travers leur regard, qu’il soit signifié ou simplement suggéré.

Ce qui m’intéresse fondamentalement n’est pas de montrer le contexte ou l’environnement de cette émotion, ni ce qui a causé sa naissance, ni non plus ceux qui en sont les spectateurs, mais de rentrer dans le profond de cette émotion et de donner à imaginer à la fois sa genèse et son évolution, tout en limitant le pathos autant que faire se peut.

C’était vrai de mes peintures sur toiles, et ça l’est aussi de mes peintures digitales que je crée directement avec mes doigts, sans stylet. Cette technique très tactile m’est très précieuse pour faire émerger les émotions que je veux faire apparaître. Sans parler du plaisir des créations et « dé-créations » successives de ce qui naît sous les doigts, sans jamais devoir tuer la version précédente pour trouver le nouvel état d’équilibre de la peinture en devenir, contrairement à ce qui se passe avec les supports physiques.

Mes thématiques recouvrent le spectre des pulsions des humains, avec leurs bonheurs, leurs tourments physiques et psychiques, leurs recours aux mythes et aux religions, leurs combats, leurs carnages. Je rends aussi hommage à des « figures », contemporaines ou non, publiques ou privées, réelles ou imaginaires, toutes majeures à mes yeux pour ce qu’elles me disent de notre histoire collective ou parfois de ma propre histoire. Je pense notamment aux personnages de la Sainte Famille des « de Nazareth », Marie et Jésus en particulier, dans la partie « terrestre » de leurs existences qui est la seule qui m’intéresse pour ce qui est de ma peinture. Et là comme ailleurs, je m’attache à donner à imaginer.

Il y a sans doute une forme de militantisme dans ma peinture en ce sens que l’oppression par les autres y est souvent présente. A cet égard, le critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition Christian NOORBERGEN m’a fait l’honneur d’écrire à mon propos : « Son art est « chargé » comme pourrait l’être un talisman intemporel. »

Et il y a peut-être aussi une certaine touche héritée des arts dits « primitifs ». Ces arts, qu’on dit « premiers » maintenant, sont pour moi les empreintes universelles et magnifiques d’une forme d’éternité qui me bouleverse.

Je fais imprimer mes visuels sur papier  Epson Hahnemülhe Photorag 305g avec finition selon le procédé Diasec  Plexi/Plexi 3+3mm, qui garantit la « Qualité Musée ». Dans des dimensions variables mais le plus souvent homothétiques au format A qui est celui de la plupart de mes visuels.

Leur rendu est parfaitement conforme à mes créations initiales, tant dans leurs couleurs que dans les effets de matière que j’introduis. Je limite l’édition de chacun de mes visuels à 3 tirages, toutes dimensions confondues.